Thursday, May 14, 2020

Church - Los Angeles 1984 + Leeds 1990

Church were a Post Punk band formed in Canberra Australia in 1980. They released their first single in that year and have since release many album and singles, the last being in 2017. The Los Angeles show is an audience recording with good sound quality and the Leeds show is from a BBC In concert radio broadcast and sound quality is excellent.


@ USC, Los Angeles 10-24-84: [from cassette tape]
01. One Day
02. Electric Lash
03. Tear It All Away
04. Constant In Opal
05. Volumes
06. You Took
07. Just For You
08. Almost With You
09. Shadow Cabinet
10. Unguarded Moment

@ Leeds Polytechnic, Leeds England 5-18-90:
01. North South East And West
02. Terra Nova Cain
03. Destination
04. Fading Away
05. Under The Milky Way
06. You've Got To Go

Saturday, May 2, 2020

Scientists - Tivoli, Adelaide 8-07-83

The Scientists started out by releasing the now classic single Frantic Romantic in 1979 which was perhaps on the Powerpop/Buzzcocks side Punk, but still great. By the time of this recording they had released two LPs and several singles and the sound had moved a bit more towards a Post Punk sound. Still great of course. This recording is a soundboard recording and the sound quality is excellent.


setlist: [from cassette]
01. Swampland
02. Raver
03. The Spin
04. Wall
05. Crazy Heart
06. She Cracked
07. This Is My Happy Hour
08. Clear Spot
09. When Fate Deals Its Mortal Blow
10. Rev Head
11. Set It On Fire
12. Burn Out
13. This Life Of Yours
14. Solid Gold Hell

Friday, May 1, 2020

Lipstick Killers - Royal Antler, Sydney Australia 10-03-80

Lipstick Killers were formed by Mark and David Taylor in 1978 after their previous band Psycho Surgeons split up. They released their lone single in 1979 which was produced by Radio Birdman guitarist Deniz Tek. The band split up in 1982 but the single has since become a classic and a few posthumous releases of old recordings have seen the light. This recording finds them in prime condition and it is quite a shame they never got to release a proper album. This is an audience recording. The vocals are a bit low in the mix but it's still a good recording. Can anyone help with the unknown song titles?


01. title unknown
02. 99th Floor
03. Driving The Special Dead
04. Dying Boys Crawl
05. Bongo Flip
06. Twilight Of The Idols
07. I've Got Levitation
08. Strange Flash
09. title unknown
10. Let's Talk About Girls
11. Date With A Thing
12. Hide And Seek
13. Shakedown USA
14. Sock It To Me Baby
15. Hindu Gods (Of Love)
16. Liquor Fit
17. title unknown