Sunday, September 11, 2016

Eyes - Masque, Los Angeles 11-01-77

The Eyes were one of L.A.s early Punk bands and are probably most known for the fact that Charlotte Caffey, who made it big with the Go Gos, was an original member. This original line up only released one song on the What Records 7" ep sampler in 1978 ( One further studio track from this line up was released on the What? Stuff compilation CD in 1998 ( In 1996 a six song live set, recorded in early 1978, was released in the Live From The Masque vol. 3 CD. This live set features 4 of the songs that have been released plus a Sonny & Cher cover and five songs that haven't been heard anywhere else. This is an audience recording and the sound quality is good. Even thought the tape says 11-01-77, I believe this show happened December 21, 1977, same show as the Flesheaters show I posted a while ago.

Recent reunion show clip:

setlist: [from cassette tape]
01. Little Girl From Hell
02. Don't Talk To Me
03. Go Go Bee
04. title unknown
05. Eniwetok
06. title unknown
07. title unknown
08. title unknown
09. I Got You Babe
10. Kill Your Parents
11. She's Dead
12. Kill Your Parents


  1. aw man, it's like Xmas up in here.. thanks even more!

  2. trying to decipher track titles for their shows is a bitch but i know Track 8 is a cover of Incense And Peppermints (by The Strawberry Alarm Clock). i wonder if even Joe Ramirez can recall them!

  3. The drummer from X - D.J. Bonebreak? I seem to remember him playing on the 45/7'...perhaps not. Anyway - great freakin' site, thank you.

  4. Just a heads up that the file has been removed. Ya snooze ya lose but hopefully it is a sign that this will get a proper release?


    1. I know the link has been removed but I don't know why. You can still listen to the show on Someone copied it off my blog and added it there:

  5. Thanks so much for pointing me in the right direction Bat. It is a really good set.