Tuesday, August 25, 2020

U.X.A./391/Vidiots - Blackies, Los Angeles 12-29-79

The Vidiots are most well known for having one song on the V.A. Rodney On The ROQ volume 1 LP which happened to be the only song they were able to release during their existence. The band started in 1978 as the Audio Vidiots and only played their first show during the summer of 1979. The line up was never stable but the Vidiots did enter the studio and recorded several demos in 1979 and 1980. By the end of 1980 the band was done. Since 2006 there is a cd-r in circulation of some of their recordings. 391 consisted of Jeff Olener, former singer for The Nuns, plus three members of the band Seizure who released one single in 1978. The band formed during the summer 1979 and played regularly around Los Angeles. In 1981 their only release, a 4-song 12inch ep, was released on Posh Boy Records. U.X.A. formed in 1977 in San Francisco and were together on and off until the late 1990s with singer De De Troit being the only constant member. In 1979 the band had three songs on the Tooth And Nail comp. LP followed by a full LP in 1980 that was released on Posh Boy Records in Los Angeles. It seems this night at Blackies was a Posh Boy Records night with all three bands being on that label. I don't think the Vidiots or 391 shows are complete as the first songs on their tapes cut in. All sets are recorded from the audience and sound quality is good. (Even though the 391 tape says Nuns it's actually 391.)

Vidiots info: https://www.discogs.com/artist/383672-The-Vidiots
391 info: https://www.discogs.com/artist/413521-391-2
Seizure info: https://www.discogs.com/artist/383671-Seizure-3
U.X.A. info: https://www.discogs.com/artist/255059-UXA

Vidiots setlist:
01. title unknown
02. title unknown
03. title unknown
04. title unknown
05. title unknown
06. title unknown

391 setlist:
01. Searching For A Thrill
02. Walking The Beat
03. The Kids Gonna Do It
04. title unknown
05. Suicide Child

U.X.A setlist:
01. Death From Above
02. Tragedies
03. I Don't Lose Sleep
04. You Saw Me
05. Sister Godfrieda
06. Hand In Glove
07. No Time
08. U.X.A.
09. Paranoia Is Freedom
10. 1995
11. Innocent Bystander

No comments:

Post a Comment